India becoming UNSC non-permanent member Pak concerned | 8 years later, was elected a temporary member of the Security Council of India for the 8th time; Pakistan said – It is not a matter of happiness but a matter of concern

  • Pakistan's foreign minister said – the sky will not burst if India becomes a temporary member
  • India is the only country in the Asia Pacific region to be elected unopposed

Dainik Bhaskar

Jun 18, 2020, 12:45 AM IST

Islamabad India was elected a temporary member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the 8th time. However, Pakistan is troubled by this. Pakistan Foreign Minister Shah Mohammad Qureshi said – India's temporary membership in UNSC is a matter of concern for us.

He said – India has always rejected proposals to be raised from this platform. Especially issues like Kashmir. Kashmiris are not given their rights and their suppression continues. However, becoming a temporary member of India will not break any sky. Pakistan has also been a temporary member seven times.

Mention of citizenship law of india

Foreign Minister Qureshi said- We have been informing the Security Council and Organization of Islamic Cooperation about the bad situation of Kashmiris. India removed Article 370 on 5 August. But Kashmiris do not believe it. Illegal search operation is going on in the name of epidemic. Minorities are being targeted through the citizenship law.

Why are temporary members elected

The purpose of choosing a temporary member in the Security Council is to maintain regional balance there. Djibouti, India and Kenya are the three candidates for the two seats decided for Africa and Asia-Pacific countries.

This is how elections happen
In the United Nations with 193 members, India needs the support of two-thirds ie 128 members to win. Member countries vote with the secret ballot. India's term will start from January 1.

When was India elected as a temporary member
India is being elected a temporary member of the Security Council for the eighth time. Prior to this, India has carried out this responsibility in 1950-51, 1967-68, 1972-73, 1977-78, 1984-85, 1991-92 and 2011-12.

It was decided to be elected unopposed

55 countries, including China and Pakistan from the Asia Pacific region, supported in June last year. In such a situation, India was decided to be elected unopposed. Supporting Asia Pacific countries include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, UAE and Vietnam.

Total 15 countries in the Security Council

There are a total of 15 countries on the United Nations Security Council. It has five permanent members. These are America, Russia, France, Britain and China. 10 countries have been given temporary membership. Five temporary members are elected every year. The tenure of temporary members is two years.

Leave a Reply